About

Origin of the initiative

The Personalized Medicine Partnership for Cancer (PMPC) project stemmed from the Stratégie québécoise de la recherche et de l’innovation (SQRI) that was created by the Government of Québec to advance knowledge and accelerate the deployment of novel personalized medicine solutions to the bedside.

The partnership, in collaboration with the Ministère de la santé et des services sociaux (MSSS) was also built to strengthen the cooperation between private and public research sectors including academic healthcare institutions and Universities.

The PMPC project was selected based on needs identified through a large consultation of 140 Québec leaders to address the challenges and barriers in the implantation of personalized medicine in Québec.

 

Personalized Medicine

Personalized medicine proposes the customization of healthcare by tailoring medical decisions and therapies to individual patients by use of genetic, proteomic, epigenetic or other information that can be obtained using the patient’s tissues (tumor), blood or other body fluids. Development and implementation of personalized medicine ranks among the more promising avenues for improving the quality and cost efficiency of healthcare provision and of the development of innovative therapeutic solutions.

Among all major diseases, nowhere is the potential impact and near term feasibility of delivering on the promise of personalized medicine greater than in cancer. The underlying molecular mechanisms leading to carcinogenesis are influenced by genetic, epigenomic and environmental factors. The response to treatment is accordingly unpredictable. A better understanding of these factors will shape the medicine of tomorrow by being able to select the right drug, for the right patient, at the right time.

 

Role of the PMPC

There are many challenges in the implementation of personalized medicine in Quebec. These will be addressed through the following PMPC programs:

  • Development and consolidation of an integrated clinical and biomarker validation and implementation platform for the delivery of personalized medicine: the platform will not only enable the successful delivery of the projects currently included in the PMPC, but also will increase the number of clinical trials from global pharmaceutical companies conducted in Québec;
  • Development, validation and commercialization of biomarkers for lung, colon and breast biomarkers;
  • Development and commercial demonstration of numerical and decision-making solutions: the initiative will expand and implement electronic and numerical solutions to support dataflow and analysis;
  • Demonstration of the pharmacoeconomic, ethical and legal impacts of personalized medicine solutions applied to the Québec healthcare system.

The PMPC will help reshape the way doctors approach and select treatments, provide health and quality of life benefits to patients, ease the economic burden imposed on our healthcare system while providing technological advances and opportunities that will fuel the growth of the province of Québec’s life science industry. These advances will create a recognized niche of expertise that will attract international biotech and pharmaceutical companies to carry out more development in Québec.

Copyright © 2013 PMPC - All rights reserved - Website conception Könige communications

À propos

Origine de l’initiative

Le projet du Partenariat pour la médecine personnalisée en cancer (PMPC) émane de la Stratégie québécoise de la recherche de l’innovation (SQRI), créée par le gouvernement du Québec, afin de faire avancer les connaissances et accélérer le déploiement de solutions novatrices en matière de médecine personnalisée, dans la pratique clinique.

Le partenariat, en collaboration avec le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS), a également été conçu pour solidifier les collaborations entre les milieux de recherche publique et privée, incluant les établissements de soins de santé à vocation académique ainsi que les universités.

Le projet du PMPC a été sélectionné suivant les besoins identifiés lors d’une vaste consultation auprès de 140 leaders québécois au cours de laquelle ont été identifiés les défis liés à l’implantation de la médecine personnalisée en cancer au Québec.

 

La médecine personnalisée

La médecine personnalisée permet l’adaptation des décisions médicales et des thérapies en fonction des besoins spécifiques du patient en utilisant les données génétiques, protéomiques et épigénétiques obtenues à partir desprélèvements de tissus (tumeurs), de sang ou autres fluides de son provenant de chaque patient. Le développement et l’implantation de la médecine personnalisée font partie des avenues les plus prometteuses, tant pour l’amélioration de la qualité de la prestation de soins de santé et de l’efficience des coûts, que pour le développement de solutions thérapeutiques novatrices et adaptées.

Parmi les maladies les plus répandues, nulle ne peut bénéficier d’un impact potentiel aussi important de la médecine personnalisée que le cancer. Les mécanismes moléculaires sous-jacents à la carcinogenèse sont extrêmement variés et influencés par des facteurs génétiques, épigénétiques et environnementaux. La réponse aux traitements est conséquemment imprévisible. Une meilleure compréhension de ces facteurs chez les patients façonnera la médecine de demain en permettant de sélectionner le bon médicament, pour le bon patient, au bon moment.

 

Rôle du PMPC

Plusieurs barrières se dressent devant l’implantation de la médecine personnalisée au Québec. Ces défis seront adressés dans les programmes du PMPC :

  • Développement et consolidation d’une plateforme clinique intégrée avec expertise dans la validation et l’implantation de l’utilisation de biomarqueurs, en soutien à la prestation de soins en médecine personnalisée : la plateforme offrira non seulement les conditions optimales pour la réalisation des projets du PMPC, mais elle augmentera également le nombre d’essais cliniques réalisés par les compagnies pharmaceutiques mondiales au Québec.
  • Développement, validation et implantation de l’utilisation de biomarqueurs pour le cancer du poumon, du côlon et du sein.
  • Développement et démonstration commerciale de solutions numériques et d’aide à la prise de décision : l’initiative viendra bonifier et implanter les solutions numériques et électroniques nécessaires à la gestion du flot de données et à leur analyse.
  • Démonstration des impacts pharmacoéconomiques, éthiques et légaux des solutions en médecine personnalisée proposées pour le système de soins de santé québécois.

L’impact du PMPC remodèlera la façon dont les médecins évaluent et sélectionnent les traitements, apportera des bénéfices en matière de santé et de qualité de vie pour les patients, allégera le fardeau économique sur le système de soins de santé tout en fournissant les avancées technologiques et les opportunités nécessaires qui nourriront la croissance de l’industrie des sciences de la vie au Québec. Ces avancées créeront une niche d’expertise reconnue qui incitera les compagnies pharmaceutiques et de biotechnologie à effectuer davantage de développement au Québec.

Droits d'auteur 2013 PMPC - Tous droits réservés - Conception web Könige communications